Too Much Free Time

Discussion and reviews of games for NES, Intellivision, DOS, and others.

Kangaroo

Posted by Tracy Poff on March 30, 2013

Kangaroo is a platformer by Sun Electronics, released in June 1982.

kangarooa0000
The player controls a kangaroo whose child has been kidnapped by mischievous monkeys. Gameplay is pretty standard for arcade platformers: walk on platforms, climb ladders, avoid pitfalls and enemies while collecting bonus items; pretty much the same as Donkey Kong.

kangarooa0001
The kangaroo, of course, can jump, and is also equipped with a boxing glove, so that she can punch the monkeys that harass her on her way to rescue her child. The monkeys throw apples at her, which can be punched to return to sender.

Rescuing the child ends the level and begins the next. There are four variations before the levels replay at higher difficulty.

Kangaroo has simple graphics, music, and sound effects, on about the level one expects from a game from 1982. Its quality is comparable to Donkey Kong: decent for an old game, but nothing special these days.

2 Responses to “Kangaroo”

  1. unwashedmass said

    Of note: one of the first games to feature a female protagonist!

    • Tracy Poff said

      A good point, actually! I do have a ‘female protagonist’ tag I use in my personal notes on games, but this one slipped right past me, and I see that I’ve neglected to tag any games with it on my blog. I’ll have to look through my old posts and see which ones I may have missed.

Leave a Reply

